Federal Skill Trades (FST)

The Federal Skilled Trades (FST) program is one of the three federal immigration programs managed by the Express Entry system. As with all Express Entry programs, FST uses the Comprehensive Ranking System (CRS) to rank interested candidates against one another, only inviting the most competitive candidates to apply for Canadian permanent residence

FST Program Requirements

In order to qualify for FST, a candidate must have at least two years of full-time work experience in a skilled trade (or an equal amount in part-time). This experience must have been obtained within the previous 5 years and only considers work experience obtained after an individual has been granted the certification to practice the trade in their country of residence.

Canada’s National Occupational Classification (NOC) code, defines skilled trades as the following occupation groups:

  • Major Group 72industrial, electrical and construction trades
  • ​Major Group 73maintenance and equipment operation trades
  • ​Major Group 82supervisors and technical jobs in natural resources, agriculture and related production
  • ​​​Major Group 92processing, manufacturing and utilities supervisors and central control operators
  • ​Minor Group 632chefs and cooks
  • ​Minor Group 633butchers and bakers